‘Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker’ Now on 4K Blu-ray

Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker, the final installment of the nine-part Star Wars saga, is now available on 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray.

Best Buy is offering two options: the Limited-Edition Collectible Steelbook, a three-disc set at $34.99 (lower right in photo), and the Ultimate Collector’s Edition disc, which includes a digital copy, at $29.99.

Other “exclusive” disc sets are also available through Target (top right in photo) and Walmart.

Rise of Skywalker is also available to purchase in digital form for $24.99 through most digital outlets and available for streaming for $5.99 in HD on Amazon Prime Video and on Vudu in the service’s “better than HD” HDX format, also $5.99.

To coincide with today’s 4K Blu-ray release, the eight remaining Star Wars films have all been released on 4K UHD for the first time: Star Wars: The Phantom Menace, Star Wars: Attack of the Clones, Star Wars: Revenge of the Sith, Star Wars: A New Hope, Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back, Star Wars: Return of the Jedi, Star Wars: The Force Awakens, and Rogue One: A Star Wars Story. Best Buy is also offering the $250 limited-edition Skywalker Saga box set (middle in photo) containing all nine movies and a multitude of extras spread over 27 discs.

For the few who don’t know, in The Rise of Skywalker the remaining traces of the Resistance movement assemble in their quest to overthrow the First Order, once and for all. Each member of the Resistance must contend with both their own demons and how the events of the past have affected them, learning to overcome their struggles to create a unified front. Meanwhile, the Jedi and the Sith approach their final face-off, bringing centuries of contention to a head. At the heart of it all is Rey (Daisy Ridley), the former orphan who stands as the Resistance's last hope as the galaxy's remaining Jedi knight.

This riveting conclusion to the Star Wars saga is supported with a rich selection of bonus materials, including a feature-length, making-of documentary that goes behind the scenes with the filmmakers and cast plus extended features that explore the epic landspeeder chase, creation of the Pasaana desert scenes, and the ship that connects Rey to the mystery of her missing parents. In other bonus segments, Warwick Davis reprises his role as Wicket the Ewok and we learn how the film’s 584 creatures and droids were created and brought to life for the film.

The digital releases also include a segment highlighting legendary composer John Williams, who scored every episode in the Skywalker saga.

4K UHD Specs
Run time: Approximately 142 min.
Rating: PG-13
Aspect ratio: 2.39:1
Audio: Dolby Atmos (disc and on some digital releases)
Subtitles: English, Danish, Finnish, Norwegian, Spanish, Swedish, and French